The Good Luck Girls

Aster, the protector
Violet, the favorite
Tansy, the medic
Mallow, the fighter
Clementine, the catalyst

The country of Arketta calls them Good Luck Girls—they know their luck is anything but.

 

Sold to a “welcome house” as children and branded with cursed markings.

 

Trapped in a life they would never have chosen.

 

When Clementine accidentally kills a man, the girls risk a dangerous escape and harrowing journey to find freedom, justice, and revenge in a country that wants them to have none of those things. Pursued by Arketta’s most vicious and powerful forces, both human and inhuman, their only hope lies in a bedtime story passed from one Good Luck Girl to another, a story that only the youngest or most desperate would ever believe.

 

It’s going to take more than luck for them all to survive.

Content warnings: sexual assault, addiction, violence, references to rape and suicide 

Praise for The Good Luck Girls

An Indie Next Pick

A Silver 2019 Nautilus Book Award Winner

A Kirkus Reviews 2019 Best of the Year Selection

A Society of Midland Authors 2020 Children's Fiction Award Honoree

“Don't underestimate the girls in the Arkettan welcome houses because you might just lose your life. Davis' The Good Luck Girls is a dust-filled, bloody fairytale set in a menacing world haunted with the reminder—the price of freedom is high, but it's worth fighting for at all costs. Rise up, teen readers!” —Dhonielle Clayton, New York Times bestselling author of The Belles

“The Good Luck Girls plays in familiarity, but never feels familiar. I loved how frequently I was shocked, surprised, and delighted by this book, its incredible (and mega queer!) cast of characters, and the effortless way Davis unfolds a sprawling and at times frightening story. An ambitious, thoughtful debut that’ll leave you wanting more.” —Mark Oshiro, author of Anger is a Gift

“A book about the bonds of sisterhood and found family, and about fear and loss and the courage to forge your own destiny despite the odds!” —Rin Chupeco, author of The Bone Witch

“A Western for the modern age, Good Luck Girls has rich, complicated characters, with flaws that make them lovable and real, who are fighting for something we all believe in. I, for one, can't wait to see what's in store next for Aster and her sisters by choice.” —Lauren Shippen, author of The Infinite Noise

“This one is a winner.”—Kirkus (starred review)

“This first installment in a new fantasy adventure is perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo's Six of Crows and Margaret Atwood's The Handmaid's Tale. ...Teen readers will devour this romp set in a fantastical Wild West–style world, filled with a diverse cast of strong female leads.” —School Library Journal

“This dystopian debut is deeply connected to today’s social issues, and readers will feel that impact.” —Booklist

“Davis creates institutions, systems, and power dynamics with real-world echoes, making the themes timely and resonant ” —Publishers Weekly

“The gunslinging, hard-riding action of a classic Western is balanced against heavy but effective commentary on class and gender to make a story that is by turns heart pounding and thought-provoking.” —Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books