The Sisters of Reckoning

In this sequel to The Good Luck Girls, the girls are finally free. Aster's sister and friends have new lives across the border in Ferron, while Aster remains in Arketta, helping more girls escape. But news of a new welcome house opening fills Aster with a need to do more than just help individual girls. And an unexpected reunion gives her an idea of how to do it. From there, grows a wildly ambitious plan to free all dustbloods, who live as prisoners to Arketta's landmasters and debt slavery.

When Clementine and the others return from Ferron, they become the heart of a vibrant group of fearless fighters, working to unite the various underclasses and convince them to join in the fight. Along the way, friendships will be forged, lives will be lost, and love will take root even in the harshest of circumstances, between the most unexpected of lovers.

But will Arketta's dustbloods finally come into power and freedom, or will the resistance just open them up to a new sort of danger?

Available 8.10.2021

Content warnings: violence, suicide, mentions of rape

Praise for The Good Luck Girls

An Indie Next Pick

A Silver 2019 Nautilus Book Award Winner

A Kirkus Reviews 2019 Best of the Year Selection

A Society of Midland Authors 2020 Children's Fiction Award Honoree

“Don't underestimate the girls in the Arkettan welcome houses because you might just lose your life. Davis' The Good Luck Girls is a dust-filled, bloody fairytale set in a menacing world haunted with the reminder—the price of freedom is high, but it's worth fighting for at all costs. Rise up, teen readers!” —Dhonielle Clayton, New York Times bestselling author of The Belles

“The Good Luck Girls plays in familiarity, but never feels familiar. I loved how frequently I was shocked, surprised, and delighted by this book, its incredible (and mega queer!) cast of characters, and the effortless way Davis unfolds a sprawling and at times frightening story. An ambitious, thoughtful debut that’ll leave you wanting more.” —Mark Oshiro, author of Anger is a Gift

“A book about the bonds of sisterhood and found family, and about fear and loss and the courage to forge your own destiny despite the odds!” —Rin Chupeco, author of The Bone Witch

“A Western for the modern age, Good Luck Girls has rich, complicated characters, with flaws that make them lovable and real, who are fighting for something we all believe in. I, for one, can't wait to see what's in store next for Aster and her sisters by choice.” —Lauren Shippen, author of The Infinite Noise

“This one is a winner.”—Kirkus (starred review)

“This first installment in a new fantasy adventure is perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo's Six of Crows and Margaret Atwood's The Handmaid's Tale. ...Teen readers will devour this romp set in a fantastical Wild West–style world, filled with a diverse cast of strong female leads.” —School Library Journal

“This dystopian debut is deeply connected to today’s social issues, and readers will feel that impact.” —Booklist

“Davis creates institutions, systems, and power dynamics with real-world echoes, making the themes timely and resonant ” —Publishers Weekly

“The gunslinging, hard-riding action of a classic Western is balanced against heavy but effective commentary on class and gender to make a story that is by turns heart pounding and thought-provoking.” —Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books